Field Set for PBA Scorpion Championship Finals at 8 p.m. ET on FS1

by Jerry Schneider March 20, 2019 14:27

ALLEN PARK, Mich. – No. 3 and No. 5 PBA World Championship qualifiers Bill O’Neill and BJ Moore will have the opportunity to win a PBA Tour title before Thursday’s World Championship Finals by advancing to the FS1 finals of the PBA Scorpion Championship.

All four players survived Round of 16 and Round of 8 best-of-five game competition today in the third animal pattern event of PBA World Series of Bowling X at Thunderbowl Lanes.

Bowling on the PBA 42-foot Scorpion lane condition, O’Neill defeated EJ Tackett in the best-of-five elimination Round of 8, 3-2; Moore beat Thomas Larsen, 3-1; Two hander Kyle Troup advanced with a 3-1 record over fellow two-hander Shawn Maldonado, and Kristopher Prather beat two-hander Anthony Simonsen, 3-0.

O’Neill, a 10-time tour winner, won the Chameleon Championship in WSOB I in 2009 for his first PBA Tour title.

Jason Belmonte, who won yesterday’s PBA Chameleon Championship was eliminated by Moore in the Round of 16, 3-0.

Belmonte has already earned top qualifier honors for Thursday’s stepladder finals of the PBA World Championship when he will try for a record 11th major title. The World Championship finals will air live Thursday at 8 p.m. ET.

A $1 million bonus will be paid if Belmonte or his opponent can bowl a 300 game in the title match.

WSOB wraps up with the USA vs. The World team competition Friday also at 8 p.m.


Thunderbowl Lanes, Allen Park, Mich., Wednesday

Round of 8 (winners advance to championship round. Best-of-five matches, losers earned $3,000)

Kyle Troup, Taylorsville, N.C., def. Shawn Maldonado, Houston, 3-1 (189-203, 245-211, 176-175, 211-139).
Kristopher Prather, Plainfield, Ill., def. Anthony Simonsen, Little Elm, Texas, 3-0 (222-171, 234-166, 235-201).
Bill O'Neill, Langhorne, Pa., def. EJ Tackett, Bluffton, Ind., 3-2 (189-258, 268-190, 226-220, 211-249, 206-192).
BJ Moore, Greensburg, Pa., def. Thomas Larsen, Denmark, 3-1 (226-203, 244-200, 197-219, 212-205).

Round of 16 (winners advance to Round-of-8. Best-of-five matches, losers earned $1,500)

Bill O'Neill, Langhorne, Pa., def. Nathan Bohr, Austin, Texas, 3-1 (279-233, 186-218, 221-164, 233-177).
EJ Tackett, Bluffton, Ind., def. Matt Kuba, Chicago Ridge, IL, 3-2 (264-174, 224-232, 209-265, 245-175, 237-186).
Thomas Larsen, Denmark, def. Jakob Butturff , Tempe, Ariz., 3-2 (202-242, 249-186, 265-257, 227-247, 215-206).
BJ Moore, Greensburg, Pa., def. Jason Belmonte , Australia, 3-0 (258-243, 236-190, 209-175).
Anthony Simonsen, Little Elm, Texas, def. Marshall Kent , Yakima, Wash., 3-2 (187-182, 197-198, 276-204, 195-258, 237-223).
Kristopher Prather, Plainfield, Ill., def. Norm Duke, Clermont, Fla., 3-2 (211-218, 199-244, 205-196, 279-247, 300-211).

If you enjoyed this post, please consider sharing it.